SAN JOSE MERCURY NEWS – Best of 2013 classical

Anne-Marie McDermott, Calder Quartet, “Mozart: Piano Concertos K. 414, 415, 449” (Bridge): Mozart was a practical fellow, suggesting that these orchestral pieces might easily be performed as chamber works, with just pianist and string quartet. And here they are in their rarely heard chamber versions. These intimate performances are evocative: One feels the play of shadow and light, the gladness, the sense of wistfulness and loss, like an afternoon of sweet rain.

Download PDF | Full Article

Leave a comment

Filed under Press

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s