SAN FRANCISCO CLASSICAL VOICE – Virtuoso Works by Adés, Stravinsky, and Liszt

In a lucky stroke for fans of new music, it seemed to be Thomas Adès Week in the Bay Area over the past few days. San Francisco Symphony led off, with performances of the composer’s Polaris: Voyage for the Orchestra (with film by Tal Rosner), followed Sunday by the Calder Quartet’s appearance at Cal Performances’ Hertz Hall in a mostly-Adès program, joined by the composer himself on piano.

The Berkeley recital featured works Adès composed between 1994 and 2010, taking him from audacious youth to his current brilliant maturity.

Download PDF | Full Article

Leave a comment

Filed under Press

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s